School Story

February 4, 2007 at 1:38 pm Leave a comment

Last friday, I learned more about the next semester. I thought there would be some big changes in my daily schedule and teaching duties. But I thought wrong. There seemed to be a chance that I would start co-teaching, and get to focus my energy on only 4-6th grades. The benefits of that would be more time with each student, a co-teaching situation that allows for more varied lesson plans and activities. But my principal doesn’t want me to co-teach. She is very clear about it!

So instead, I will be teaching much like I was last semester. Grades 1-6, 1 time each week. It does give more kids exposure to English, but it means that I am really much more in charge of WHAT I teach. And being a pretty new teacher, I don’t really feel prepared to design an entire English curriculum. I am trying to get the school to purchase a textbook so that there is some continuity and structure to my teaching, but we haven’t decided on one yet.

Entry filed under: Teaching.

Age This is about adventure

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


View Austin Davidsen's profile on LinkedIn

