I have started another new hobby.

March 15, 2007 at 12:37 pm 1 comment

This week I began taking Koean calligraphy classes.  In Korean it is called 서예, (like saw-yay).  Two times a week (or more) if I can manage, I’ll be working on that.  Korea is keeping me pretty busy.  Between language lessons, regular meetings with friends, going to the orphanage, I’m squeezing alot of activity into a short time….

At my frist calligraphy lesson, I was just drawing lines and circles.  There is a completely different technique in using the calligraphy brush, than painting in something like watercolors.  Western painting (at least my understanding) involves alot of wrist movement, twisting the brush to do something.  In the style I am learning, your wrist stays pretty rigid, and you allow the brush to move on its own.  I’ll be posting pictures of my work as I complete them.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Back to it. Spring rain

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  March 16, 2007 at 12:39 pm

    This reminds me of the days of practicing Italic handwriting, a project you cooperated with and for which I am eternally grateful!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


View Austin Davidsen's profile on LinkedIn

