An interesting email..

May 16, 2007 at 11:35 am 1 comment

This morning I woke up a surprising e-mail.  I’ll explain.  A little over a year ago I had decided to leave my teaching job in Maryland.  Right at that time, I wasn’t sure what I would be doing after that.  One of the things I was seriously considering was a career in pharmaceutical sales.  My teaching partner’s daughter works as one, and I had heard alot of good things about the job.  It was a dream compared with the conditions of my teaching job.  Significantly better pay, hours, benefits, and a certain amount of freedom to choose how I spend my day.   Anyway, I had sumbitted a handful of applications to some of the largest drug companies.  I was confident that I was reasonably competitive.  My friends in the business said that teachers can sucessfully switch to pharmaceutical sales.  They have a skill set that serves the sales industry.

I did manage to get one interview with Pfizer, which I think went really well, but ultimately I didn’t make it to another round.  I decided to take that sign as a closed door, and I started to pursue some other options (ultimately leading to Korea). 

 Anyway, today I got an automated e-mail from AstraZeneca inviting me to fill out an application.  I had posted my name on their site last spring, but didn’t ever hear from them.  I’m not planning on applying.   I just think it’s interesting that I got it a whole year after showing some interest!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Airing some dirty “garbage.” A tidbit of cross-culture mayhem

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. rachelle  |  May 17, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    i’m glad you’re not going to work for the drug pushers.. korea is pretty fun..
    -r

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


View Austin Davidsen's profile on LinkedIn

