The horizon…

June 1, 2007 at 1:07 pm 1 comment

This has been a busy week.  My mother and her best friend came in to visit.  Consequently, I’ve become a bit of a tour guide.  It has taken me out of my regular schedule, but I’ve loved getting to see my mom, and show her a little bit of what my life is like here in Korea.  I may even get around to updating my Flickr gallery one of these days.

But the real reason for this post is to discuss yet ANOTHER option for my time after I leave Korea.  It feels a bit anxious to find some great new thing and then put all this effort into researching it when any decision on the matter is at least a year away and depends on a bunch of different factors, yet having so many options that are each in their own way valid and important is comforting because it ensures a good choice.

Here is the newest thing:

12 weeks in Latin America. The link will take you to the main page of Global Crossroad, an organization that coordinates internships and volunteer programs all over the world.  I originally thought about looking into one of the Asian programs as preparation for grad school (The Portland State program is Asia focused).  But then I saw the page about volunteering in South America and getting free Spanish language instruction!  I love free language classes.  It’s a huge part of how I’m learning Korean!  And Spanish does havea soft spot in my heart.  I would love to get back to really studying it.  In 12 weeks, I really think I could learn an awful lot.. and participate in a worthwhile volunteer project (at an orphanage, in sustainable development, local business, etc).

When I leave Korea (probably in August of 2008) I will be ready for another adventure before I would (theoretically) enter my Master’s program.  I could spend at least 12 weeks in either Argentia, Bolivia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Honduras, or Peru!  Exciting!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

When you hire someone to do your dirty work. I’m really bad at this, I know

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. rachelle  |  June 3, 2007 at 5:51 pm

    wow ARGENTIA?? whereabouts is that? i think argentina would be cool too.. where’d you find out about this program?
    -r

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


View Austin Davidsen's profile on LinkedIn

