My intentions

September 18, 2007 at 12:48 pm 3 comments

I’m not sure what I ever expected to get out of the blogging experience. I’ve never considered my self a professional writer (or even an amateur one). But it has been painfully obvious that I am really bad at keeping up-to-date here. I’ve got a couple ideas why:

1. My life here settled into a routine a long time ago, and there isn’t much new spice to liven things up. Much of what surprised me or seemed noteworthy is now commonplace, and now I even struggle to recollect all of culturally interesting anecdotes from the past year.

2. If I do see something interesting, I forget it by the time I get home and can get to my computer. (Lame, I know)

3. In a way, this blog competes with my written journal for attention. Who wants to write things twice? And my written journal has a more significant place in my heart.

At any rate, I really want this space to have a reason and purpose, so yet again, I am resolving to do a better job of updating it. I don’t have a good feel for how often it is even read….so let me know! Make comments, add the RSS feed to your aggregator…

Entry filed under: Living.

Back in the States A Kids Song…

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  September 18, 2007 at 9:58 pm

    Your blog is really important to ME! The rest of us do not have access to your written journal. BUT I am delighted to know that it holds a higher place in your heart.
    I am learning from you things like how to extract an interesting headline. How to keep the thought small enough to fit into a readable bit (about a screen’s worth) but juicy enough to be enjoyed and savored.

  • 2. Carol  |  September 21, 2007 at 1:56 pm

    Well, I read your blog…my daughter is Rachell….and I read many blogs of ESL teachers in Korea … I keep peaking back at yours to see where life will take you.
    You keep writing and I’ll keep reading. I’ve always liked the pictures of your Korean language…..it looks like art to me..I can’t read it, but it looks cool!
    Carol

  • 3. Mike  |  October 2, 2007 at 10:36 am

    Mom couldn’t have said it better. It is so fascinating to read about your experiences that are so different than my own. Hope things are well!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


View Austin Davidsen's profile on LinkedIn

