A little video

October 10, 2007 at 6:07 pm 7 comments

If you’ve been wondering what my Korean sounds like, I just made this video. Of course, it is always interesting to hear your own voice….especially in another language. And it is a good learning tool.

At any rate, I hope it says something like:

Hello everyone! My name is Austin, I’m 26 years old. I came to Korea from America to teach English. I teach at an elementary school. The students there are very smart and cute.

I have lived in Seoul for 1 year. During that time I’ve been studying Korean very hard, but it is difficult. In my opinion, speaking seems to be the most difficult. So I made this video. Actually I’ve never listened to my self speak Korean before. I really want to practice pronunciation.

Thank you.

UPDATE:

You may not be able to tell, but I can see now that I really need to work on my accent! The pronunciation is OK, but there’s plenty of room for growth. The good news: one of my students just told me that I only made one mistake (the equivalent of saying “Me” instead of “My”)! That’s encouraging!

Entry filed under: Korean, Language.

my new phone Japan…

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mom  |  October 11, 2007 at 5:27 am

    Wow! What fun to see you talking in such apparently fluent Korean! That surely does represent a LOT of hard work on your part! I can’t wait to show this off at dinner tonight!!

  • 2. 왕음치  |  October 12, 2007 at 9:39 am

    찰 했어요. It takes a lot of courage to post something like that publically. Keep working hard.

  • 3. Hyunwoo Sun(선현우)  |  October 14, 2007 at 2:00 am

    Again, this is a cool video that you’ve made, Austin, and it’s really cool that even your mother left a comment for you!! 😀

  • 4. maxiewawa  |  October 14, 2007 at 8:25 pm

    Nice one! Far out I’ve got a long way to go on my korean…

  • 5. Scott  |  October 24, 2007 at 10:34 pm

    Austin that sounds really good. I feel like you speak better then me….

  • 6. Sara  |  October 27, 2007 at 3:09 am

    Great job Austin! I’ve been studying for 6 months and can barely string a sentance together so I think you’re doing really great~

  • 7. matthew254  |  July 1, 2008 at 7:13 am

    wow~ sorry to dig up an oldie but – three cheers for posting (what seems to be) your first video in Korean. I would rather stick a needle in my eye than make videos regularly and that’s too bad – it really does improve language skills! I’ve seen your more recent ones and of course you’ve improved tremendously. I’m just blaming your immersion in Seoul as your for the reason for your rapid development *grrr*

    I must say that this video has inspired me to get geeky and buy a webcam. I need to practice my accent too – as mine is pretty much terrifying. It’s quite humbling actually….

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


View Austin Davidsen's profile on LinkedIn

