Weighing the options

October 31, 2007 at 11:02 pm 4 comments

I guess that title has a double meaning, although that was unintentional! I am playing with some different themes for the blog, but I am picky, so it isn’t easy to find one that has everything I want..

But that isn’t what this post is about. I am trying to do a little soul searching to determine “what I want to be when I grow up.” I really believe that people are happiest when they are doing work that really excites them and ignites their passions. I’m trying to figure out what that looks like for me. I know one thing: I don’t want to be an English teacher forever. This is a good job now, but not something that will sustain me professionally!

I also know that I love languages, especially learning them. I have always said that if I could get paid to learn foreign languages, I would really have found a great job. I’m not sure such a job exists, per se, but there are a few ways I see to exploit that interest.

1) An obvious choice would be to become a translator/interpreter. I’m learning a bit about what that entails. There are full-fledged MA degrees to be had in that field. Some cost ALOT of money, others are less expensive. But the biggest barrier would be my language level. Because right now, Korean is my second language and I’ve already invested more than a year studying it, I would make that my profession. That’s great since I really do like Korea and Korean. And I think there is tremendous growth potential for that. But I am really, really far away from being fluent enough to call myself an interpretor.

2) I would also love to learn Spanish. Another plan is to spend a few months in Latin America studying Spanish when I leave Korea – before I head to grad school. That plan fits with going to Portland for an International Management degree where I would also study Chinese or Japanese. But not to the level of being an interpreter. That language study is really just for simple business communication.

I believe that I could get to the necessary level in Korean, but there is a long road ahead of me! In a way, each of those options is a great fit. Both would let me travel the world and engage different people in a variety of ways… ah…

한국어가 아무리 어려워도 끝까지 배우겠습니다!

(I will study Korean to the bitter end!)

Entry filed under: Living.

Language story at someone else’s expense… KoreanClass101.com

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Anna  |  November 1, 2007 at 7:56 pm

    Your goals are similar to mine. I really want to learn spanish… and… 😀 anyway, it is very interesting to learn other languages… 🙂

  • 2. teeth  |  November 5, 2007 at 1:48 am

    good luck in all your endeavors! i am not a website pro by any means but IMHO I liked your other style better; just random 2 cents….

  • 3. Mom  |  December 9, 2007 at 6:26 am

    Wycliff translators get paid to learn languages Has thqt ever occured to?

  • 4. selfimprover1980  |  January 12, 2009 at 9:38 am

    for me the biggest problem with learning a new language is trying to remember the words and the only way to remember is to keep trying to speak everyday but that’s difficult too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


View Austin Davidsen's profile on LinkedIn

