I make no apoligies

June 20, 2008 at 5:05 pm 4 comments

Contrary to what you may think, I am still alive.  I am also still in Seoul.  I just haven’t been blogging so muc here. I have been doing it here.  Also, I feel like there hasn’t been a whole lot of things to say over the past fe months.  My life has been pretty consistent recently.

Anyway, I do want to spend some time talking about the recent protests here in Seoul.  Perhaps you heard about them.  If not, read this.  It will bring you up to speed in a very fair way.  The most recent news is that the South Korean presdident has agreed to some of the citizen’s demands.

The recent protests mentioned have been quite a spectacle.  I have dozens and dozens of pictures that will eventually make it on my my flikr site.  I’m also working on a video to share some scenes from a recent march and to translate some of the picket signs I collected.  Look for that in the next few days or so.

Anyway, comments make me feel loved, and probably encourage me to write more. (hint, hint)

Entry filed under: Culture, Korean, Language, Living.

Korean testing A new page?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. 정용경  |  June 23, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    He-ey, I’m bluesubmarines from Youtube. I kept trying to reply to your comment on the Seoulglow video, but Youtube kept blocking it out for some reason. 😦
    Luckily I copied and pasted it, so here goes.

    “certainly that is the beauty of colloquial speech, but the standards are there for a reason.you didn’t put an apostrophe in your ‘thats,’ for example.that doesn’t give us communication problems, but it could be problematic if this were a dissertation/formal letter.in language teaching, especially with potentially bilingual kids at this early age, one can never bee too careful about even such seemingly minor technicalities ;)”

    I do think it IS a very minor thing, though – sort of like distinguishing between ‘affect’ and ‘effect’ in the English language – and shouldn’t pose problems, communication-wise. But still, I don’t think it’s minor enough to be brushed aside in the name of ‘it works, so who cares?’ It’s definately wrong, and even Koreans realize this once we learn.

    Well.. all that language theory hocus aside… I really see you’re doing an awesome dedicated job teaching these kids English and such!! I’ll be looking forward to seeing more videos from you – and now I’ve found your blog, I’ll be sure to check up on it every now and again. ;D

    Cheers,
    YK

  • 2. Mom  |  June 30, 2008 at 10:35 pm

    You ARE loved!! What do I need to know to see your flickr site?

  • 3. rachelle  |  July 3, 2008 at 11:53 pm

    HI .. it’s about time.. you better post when you’re in honduras buddy or you’re in trouble.
    -r

  • 4. Yun Jeong  |  August 8, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    Hello~

    Today is dog’s day. Did you have something for health?
    The heat is murder. 😦

    I had a good time with your blog and picture.

    Have a great weekend~:D

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


View Austin Davidsen's profile on LinkedIn

