The Princess Bed I Always Wanted

October 26, 2008 at 4:33 am 3 comments

I told you that I was going to a remote farming village to do a little more Spanish study.  I didn´t quite know how remote it was going to be… but it is about as remote as you can imagine.

The farming community was established a couple decades ago, during the height of the Sandanista government and ensuing opposition in the early 1980´s.  Then the village was attacked by the Contra forces in ´84.  There is a very dramatic story associated with that day.  The anniversary is New Year´s Eve, and I think I´ll plan to be there then to experience the memorial.

This is my bed.  Yeah, there´s a mosquito net.  It´s actually pretty uncomfortable to use.  You can see that while it is suspended above the bed, it would hang on your head and toes, which is mildly annoying.  I´ve probably used it about 1/4 of the time.

That is about the extent of ¨comforts¨in Lagartillo.  There are no phones, TVs, or plumbing.  This means I haven´t had a hot shower since I left the States!  Here in Nicaragua, there´s a bucket full of cold water, and a small pail.  It does the trick.

 

Since there is no plumbing, there are of course outhouses.  Here´s the one I stumble to each night.  It get´s dark at around 6PM, and I ran out of batteries for my flashlight with a week before I could buy more.  Candles work, but…

It turns out I´ve studied most of the grammar in Spanish..that is I´ve seen all the forms and tenses.  So I just need to practice speaking as much as possible.  I´m getting to do that by spending morning in the local school.  Not teaching English, but teaching… in Spanish actually.  I´m surprising myself every day.  THen in the afternoos is my ¨class time¨which recently has mostly consisted of chatting with my teacher for 3-4 hours about topics ranging from NCLB, to the election, to Korean.  He let´s me talk a lot about Korea and Korean.. which is good because I know a fair amount about those topcis, and it is always encouraging to talk about things you know well. Next week I´m planning to work my way towards Costa Rica and Panama, with the goal of seeing the canal.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Before I go dark… The news

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. matthew254  |  October 26, 2008 at 7:15 am

    your bed is just precious 🙂 glad to hear you’re doing more than just roughing it

  • 2. maxiewawa  |  October 26, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    Kinda sounds like fun… what a way to learn a language.

  • 3. Mom  |  October 27, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Thanks for the update and pictures. I am more than a little proud of how you are embracing this experience in all its “roughness.” I must have told you already about the outhouse your dad and I had to use when we stayed with your grandparents on the family farm in Norway on our honeymoon. Your picture reminds me…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


View Austin Davidsen's profile on LinkedIn

