A truly amazing city

December 7, 2008 at 5:30 pm 2 comments

OK.  So now I’ve spent just over 3 weeks here.  It has been really exciting.  I almost feel like a new person.  I’ve been doing a lot of things differently than in times past.

picture-3 Here is the house I’m living in.  Sorry, the picture is dark.  I decided to update the blog at the spur of the moment, and well, you get what you get.  Anyway, it is a 108 year old house that apparently is modular.  The landlord says it (and the 3 houses nearby) were shipped on on trains and then assembled on site.  Turns out it was also assembled without inuslation.  No minor issue, but at least we don’t live in Minneapolis!

I have also been going to a number of different groups.  If you are new to a city (or if you just want to make friends in your current one) I strongly suggest meetup.com.  I have used that site to meet a lot of new people.  I found Spanish languge groups, professional networking groups, and I’m sort of starting a Korean language group as well.

I am also trying to be more intentional about eating well.  I mean, in my previous life, I was content to just eat chicken nuggets and call it a day.  Or ramen.  On occasion I would get really enthusiastic and make something more special.  I decided it was time to grow up in this area, so I subscribed to a weekly shopping list/recipe website.  I need that because I am so clueless otherwise.

I have joined zipcar.  Read about it.  It is awesome and fun.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

A few days down A new project!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. rachelle  |  December 12, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    yay austin! it’s been awhile since i last read your blog. nice house. are you living in it alone? it’s way bigger than your last apartment. haha.
    -r

  • 2. Benny Greene  |  January 6, 2013 at 2:00 pm

    This post will focus on the best way to handle such data, which is perhaps not as straightforward as might be assumed. Despite the title, I’m not really going to cover the actual analysis; there’s a lot of literature already out there about what particular statistical tests to use, and in any case, general advice of that kind is not much use as it depends largely on your experimental design. What I’m intending to focus on are the techniques the stats books don’t normally cover – data cleaning, formatting and transformation techniques which are essential to know about if you’re going to get the best out of your data-set.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


View Austin Davidsen's profile on LinkedIn

